24/7 Support number 1 - 555 - 555 - 555

Karnak Temple

Karnak temple

Egypt’s capital during the reign of the New Kingdom kings was located in Luxor, the current site of the Karnak temple. Not always was this temple in ancient Egypt known as Karnak. Similar to the southern House of deity Amun at the Temple of Luxor, it was formerly referred to as the northern House of god Amun. Thebes was formerly known as City of Palaces, also named Luxor.
The Montu Temple Enclosure, the Amun Temple Enclosure with the Temple of Khonsu, and the Mut Temple Enclosure are the three principal sections of the complex. A wall separates each one from the others. The main enclosure, which is devoted to Amun, is divided into open courtyards with sculptures and obelisks by a number of pylons. The great hypostyle hall was dark even though there were a few holes in the ceiling. Where the two sides of the enclosure met, the pharaohs erected obelisks in the 18th century.

The Karnak temple was constructed for a number of purposes related to religion and ancient history, the primary one being to worship the well-known gods “Amon,” “Mut,” and their son “Khons,” as there are temples inside the complex devoted to each king. It is one of the most well-known and largest temples in Egypt, particularly in ancient Egyptian and Greek history.

Since the temple of Karnak was constructed during a time of respect for the Ptolemaic dynasty and contains numerous historical structures and complexes in every area of the complex, we can say with certainty that it is a must-see attraction in Luxor. The temple’s construction spans a great period of time that exceeds two thousand years.

Leave a Reply

Note: Comments on the web site reflect the views of their authors, and not necessarily the views of the bookyourtravel internet portal. You are requested to refrain from insults, swearing and vulgar expression. We reserve the right to delete any comment without notice or explanations.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are signed with *

3 × 4 =